>3rd Ultrasound and Triple Screen

>

Today I had some testing done for possible genetic/chromosomal issues. Kinda scary, just hoping that everything was going ok in there for our baby! Matt went with me, and we got another ultrasound and they drew my blood. From the ultrasound, they were able to determine that the fluid behind the neck of the fetus was normal, and that it doesn’t look like anything should be wrong with the baby. We will get the bloodwork back sometime next week.

But, the ultrasound was somewhat an interesting experience today. First, I wasn’t aware that they like a full bladder, and apparently mine was empty! So, the lady had to push really hard on my stomach to get a proper reading. Like ‘ow’ hard. Like I might have a bruise tomorrow, hard. And, then she made me do weird things like turn my head and cough (um, isn’t that for boys?) and then she had me wiggle my hips back and forth (her words “like you are dancing”) to apparently wake up the baby. Once we were through with all of that, we finally got to see the baby moving! Moving all around, almost like playing! It was honestly very surreal. I still have a hard time believing all that was going on in my body, and I don’t feel a thing! We saw arms and legs, so that was really reassuring and cool. You could also see lots of white spots which are bones forming. There are lots of them in there!

Officially, the baby was just over 2 inches long. Apparently, during our discussion with the Dr. he said that the size indicated that the baby was 11.6 weeks old. So, I asked if that moved my due date back, and he said no, that the earlier readings for my due date were better. Apparently, at this point, the baby starts growing so fast that actual growth rates apply to it, and the size of the baby now can be because of the sex or because it might just be a little bit smaller of a baby. So, the date continues to be September 1!

Also, a side note, I’m up about 2 lbs., and up about 2 dress sizes, which is a ridiculous ratio. Again, just waiting to bust out of my pants!

Oh, and we booked a trip to Vegas this week. A work trip, but Matt is going to go this time, which will be fun! Trip is at the end of April.

Leave a comment